Connect with us

Sammi's Daily Mix

Sammi’s Daily: Capitals Takes, Why Kadri’s Goal Counts & NHL’s Statement

Published

on

The Capitals have been linked to Nazem Kadri, who won Game 4 in OT for the Avalanche.

As the Washington Capitals continue preparing for the start of NHL Free Agency in the coming weeks, the Colorado Avalanche pulled within one win of the Stanley Cup, and it was all thanks to potential Capitals offseason target Nazem Kadri.

Kadri drove to the net and sniped the puck past Andrei Vasilevskiy to secure a 3-2 overtime win for the Avalanche over the Tampa Bay Lightning for a 3-1 series lead. The Stanley Cup will be in the building on Friday as the series moves back to Denver for Game 5.

The goal, however, didn’t come without controversy. Bolts head coach Jon Cooper was furious, and in a post-game presser lasting less than two minutes, had strong words for the league as he believes the goal shouldn’t have counted.

“My heart breaks for the players because we probably still should be playing,” Cooper said before ending his presser.

Here are all the latest news and notes from D.C. and across the NHL, and a closer look at that Kadri goal and why it does count.

Capitals Links:

  • What does the future hold for pending UFA Justin Schultz? We take a look at the Washington blueliner and what the next steps are for him and the Capitals ahead of July 13. (WHN)
  • Conor Sheary continued to be a Swiss-Army Knife type of player for Washington. Here’s a look back at the Capitals winger’s 2021-22 campaign. (Japers’ Rink)

NHL Links:

  • Colorado moved within one win of the Stanley Cup with a hard-fought Game 4 victory away from home. Here’s more on this special Avalanche team and how they are creating a new legacy. (CHN)
  • Moving on to our favorite rivals, the Pittsburgh Penguins may be in for some big moves this summer. (PHN)

Sammi’s Top Shelf Takes

  • The NHL made a statement regarding the Kadri overtime winner, per AP’s Steve Whyno:

  • Here’s why that goal counts: per the NHL Rulebook (Rule 74, to be exact), “players may be changed at any time during the play from the players’ bench provided that the player or players leaving the ice shall be within five feet (5′) of his players’ bench and out of the play before the change is made.” Nathan MacKinnon is right at the bench door, and though Kadri is on the ice, MacKinnon is within five feet of the bench and onside when Kadri plays the puck. Also, looking at the replay, there are seven Lightning players on the ice while the Avalanche have six, as Tampa is also changing on the fly. So, therefore, the goal should have counted.

Welcome to your new home for Washington Capitals breaking news, analysis and opinion. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and don't forget to subscribe to WHN+ for all of our members-only content from Sammi Silber and the National Hockey Now network.
Click to comment
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

All the Capitals news that's fit to print

Sign up and get all of our stories sent directly to your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.